Diesel Newbie

Polar_Bear209

Reaction score
Hello Ladies and Gents,
I am new to diesels and the likes. I am wondering if it's worth getting one vs a gasser. My wife and I are planning on the RV life for a while to try and save up to get a house because on a fixed income its hard to save when paying rent.
Anyway, I am looking at an 01' 7.3l; not sure if it's IDI or PS, but I hear that IDI is better and easier to work on, but the PS is easier and better for mods for power and and the like for towing.
I am here to ask for your opinions and wisdom. I am not a know it all and I am teachable so throw it at me.
Also, living in Cali but looking to move to Montana to visit with family and come to visit family in Cali. Just to throw that out there.

Thanks everyone.

PolarBear.

rreegg

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Right on welcome to the forum! The '01 truck should have come stock with a powerstroke, believe 1994.5 was the last year of IDIs before the transition. Both are great engines - I like wrenching and don't have much money so went with an IDI.

You'll get better MPG towing with a diesel compared to gas

FrozenMerc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Here are my $0.02, and probably not worth that much.

1. Gassers will always be cheaper to own, maintain, and operate. If you are towing less than 10,000 lbs, a gasser will do just fine as long as you can afford the 6 to 8 mpg with the RV hanging off the bumper. The new Ford 7.3L gasser has some pretty awesome towing specs and is getting good reviews, but I am assuming a $75K+ truck is out of the question (even used ones are still bringing $50K in good, low mileage condition).

2. 1983 to 1994 was the IDI, 1994 1/2 to 2003 was the 7.3L Powerstroke HEUI. The engines share nothing expect displacement and manufacturer (International Harvester / Navistar). You definitely are looking at a Powerstroke if it is a 2001.