New Guy With a coupla ???s

Gary_M

Reaction score
Hello all, Been lurking on here for awhile, Very informantive site. I currently own a 1993 Dodge Dually, CTD, Auto, I use this for my business, I am a self- employed Contractor, I tow a dump trailer that usually weighs about 8-11,000 lbs loaded. Been thinking of buying a 85-93 IDI to replace the truck above. All my builders drive either Powerstrokes or Duramaxes, Nice trucks, just too complex for me. Was wondering if an older IDI will fit the bill? My current truck is relatively stock, and does everything I ask it to do. Just needed some info on what you guys thought. Thanks, Gary

NCheek

Howdy
Reaction score
Welcome to OB Gary!

As far as the truck is concerned, it will pull the trailer, but it won't do it near as fast as your current rig. you will definitely want a dually with a turbo, 4.10's, and hydroboost brakes, but, no matter what anyone says, these old rigs can take some abuse.

Feel free to ask any questions, someone here will be able to answer them.

smokin69

Always smokin'
Reaction score
An IDI should pull that just fine with a turbo. If your going to be pulling I would say look for one with a manual or otherwise invest in a big tranny cooler and gauge if you get one with the E4OD automatic.

Gary_M

Reaction score
Thanks for welcome, ;Sweet Hopefully i will be able to find a decent truck. I know that it will not pull like my "Cummins", But that will be OK. I have always liked the looks of the older Ford trucks, And I think that with a little time and money I will be perfectly happy:D Once again Thanks for the Welcome, Looking forward to gaining alot of valuable info. Gary

k_williams1982

'01 Excursion 4x4
Reaction score