ISO a guy that could help me time my 93 non turbo.

turbo_h8er

Reaction score
I live in Scott county, Mississippi
I don’t care what you charge, I’ll pay.
Plan on replacing a pump with a Russ unit and injectors also Russ units around Late February or March and I can’t find anyone that knows what they are doing around here.
I have also looked in the timing registry here. Nobody has posted that’s close to me.

I called one diesel shop and asked them “hey guys, I’m replacing my injection pump and injectors on my 1993 f250 with the 7.3 idi. I’m going to need the timing set after I do this. Can you guys do it?”

They responded “Those engines don’t need to be timed you just put it where it was.”

If I’m about to spend 1,300 dollars or more on my fuel system I want to complete the job right! I do not want to do the timing by ear. This isn’t the small block Chevy that’s in your grandpa’s sister’s cousin’s square body.

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm not an expert but when I was driving for FedEx ground I did deliver to a holiday inn express a few times.

Putting the pump back on where the old one came off, even a new pump, will have it probably exactly where it's supposed to be or crazy close. It'll definitely be drivable. I'm in Crestview Florida which is right on I-10 and if you ever have commerce this way you'd be welcome to stop by and I'll put my timing thingy on it. I don't have the Tech-time 3300, I have this luminosity thing that plugs into the #1 glow plug hole and you hook a timing light to it.

But really, when I put my engine together and put the new pump on it, I was so pleased with the performance that I haven't hooked up the timing thingy. If you're interested PM me and we'll get together.

Old Goat

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If a shop told me that, I would run from them fast and never go back.
If they don`t know every engine needs to be timed on the correct spot to run efficiently, what other corners do they cut?