need help with finding a gear

94 non stroker

Reaction score
i have a 94 ford f-superduty idi non turbo five speed and i am wondering if any of you know where i can find a differential for this truck so i can have a decent highway gear im a traveling diesel mechanic and this truck runs very unhealthy at freeway speeds

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
you're not going to like what I have to say. Dana considers these rears to be the "older series" rears and as a result, there is little support on gear ratios. As far as I am aware of, 4.63 is the lowest you can go without a new center section which is extremely rare in this group. I did get an entire rear out of a salvaged motorhome with 4.63's, but it is not without trade offs. 5.13 can pull like noone's business, but lack in the top end. 4.63's will give you a little more top end, but you will get slaughtered in the hills.
good luck;Sweet

plywood

Recovered N/A
Reaction score
The older trucks came with 3:55 and 4:11, but the 94 is sort of a transition period that I've read conflicting info about.

Here is a page that might help though.

http://www.usgear.com/tl/ford2.htm

If that is really an F 450 or up then the last post is probably right on.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
A 10 lug bolt rear end is the super duty or the later F450 trucks... Some will say "Same *****... Just a differant dress"....:eek::D

Last edited:

plywood

Recovered N/A
Reaction score
Yeah, I've seen guys call there older F350s a superduty by mistake so I thought I would cover both bases.:D

94f450sd

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
trust me its an f450/super duty,if it wasnt he wouldnt be complaing about the gearing.