Metal shavings injection pump: 7.3 idi no start

Witt

Reaction score
I'll start by saying that I was driving down the road (about 45 mph) and my truck sputtered a little bit and then just quit. Then it would not start again (no smoke when turning over). My roadside troubleshooting consisted of changing fuel filter and running a temp jumper from positive battery term. To injection pump. No luck..

Got a tow. Then I traced fuel path to lift pump. And broke loose the hardline intake by my fuel filter= good pressure. Next, output from filter= good pressure. Cracked injector line= nothing.

Now comes the problem... I took the solenoid off of the injection pump to test the function of it, worked fine but saw many metal shavings on the magnet. Any ideas???

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

shawn deere

So many wrenches, so little time...
Reaction score
Runnin waste oil?
How many miles on ip?
Im no expert, but i would say a new ip is in order

conastogadiesel
Typ4
R and D idi performance

Are the only places to get one

Good luck!
Im sure someone more educated will chim in

pelky350

Full Access Member
Reaction score