fuel filter

CH302K

Reaction score
My fuel filter light is coming.I'm new to the 7.3 idi world and could use some help on how to change and what to look for while I'm doing it.
Thanks

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. Get a new filter and fill it with trans fluid directly from the bottle to the outer ring of holes in the filter head. That way any dirt will be caught in the filter and not the pump. Never pour anything in the center big hole.

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. Get a new filter and fill it with trans fluid directly from the bottle to the outer ring of holes in the filter head. That way any dirt will be caught in the filter and not the pump. Never pour anything in the center big hole.

Which is the opposite of the engine oil filter. Just in case you were wondering.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score
Mel I'm going to look at my filter heads on the spare oil coolers I have. I have always thought the center of the oil filter was the clean oil and the dirty oil went in the outer area of the filter. Now you have me rethinking everything just because we are not thinking alike.. There is a disturbance in the system...:angel:

paulb3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yep trans fluid helps flush out that IP. Think of it like preventative maintenance.

gunz

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Filler her up with ATF as mentioned and run it. As stated it will run a little rough for a minute or so bleeding any air out, but thats the right way to go about it. Just did mine about a week ago.

I took it s step furthur and installed a pre filter before my pump to help keep the big expensive filter clean longer and I can visibility of my fuel.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score