Dumb Glow Plug Questions

Skidmark

Reaction score
First, I'm pretty new to diesels. The former owner of my rig told me that I should probably get a new set of glow plugs. Some motorcraft gps are going to cost more than I would like to spend, so I would like to make sure I need them before I buy them. I'm wondering how can you tell if your truck needs new glow plugs? Right now, I have trouble starting on cold mornings (30-40 degrees) but no problems when its warmed up. Is that the best way to tell? I checked them with an indicator light and they are all functioning.

My second question is about replacing glow plugs when you have a giant banks air box in the way. I have a non-wastegated banks and it seems to be blocking most of the gps. How hard is it to take that thing off and do I need to know anything particular before I do it?

Thanks for any info!!! :hail

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score