complete 6.2 minus pistons, was running, good crank!

ghettoscrap

Reaction score
OK, so I scrap out vehicles and any thing that is of value since I can't get a job in this country, oh yeah, we sent them all overseas, DOOOOH!

ANYWAY, I picked up a 6.2 out of a military Hummer that was in running condition from when the military swapped to the turbo 6.5 or something like that. This was a good running engine but the guy let it sit outside and it got water in the cylinders and siezed them to the block. He took it apart and now the engine is disassembeled and the pistons are missing, the walls of the block are rusty and the heads are kinda rusty too but they are loosely on the block and I have not pulled them off yet to get a good look. The crank is still good with only surface rust begining to creep onto thte journals from being in the weather at my place, could still be polished and used if needed in a pinch. I'm sure the block could be bored as well, but I am not a diesel expert engine guy, yet.

My question is, does this thing have any value to it or should I continue on with it as scrap and dump it later this week when I take a load of metal to the scales?

Last edited:

ghettoscrap

Reaction score
I forgot to mention, I have several small items for this as well, I don't know what they are but two are round saucers with some flare fittings on them(LP's?, look expensive!) and some other stuff. I'll get some pics of the stuff and try to get those heads off and snap some of them too.

Still looking for TEO6H rebuild parts or kits, anyone know?

towcat

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
scrap it all out.
ever since the first sandbox experience, the quality of surplus 6.2's have went to ****. since yours is no better than a rebuild-able core, it's worth scrap price. the only person who would be interested in your block wold be a guy who broke off a starter ear or tore out the bolts on the starter.

ghettoscrap

Reaction score
Ironman,