broken crank?

THECACKLER

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've seen Harmonic Balancers "walk" off the Woodruff key, but only twice and those were SBC's. It screws up the crank key way but can be welded and re-cut. Also seen the outer mass of the HB spin on the rubber and roll it up to one side, making it eccentric but again on Chevys.. Broken cranks at the snout will do what is seen but usually make a very low frequency knocking, like a sledge hammer on concrete. Do you have end play on the crank snout? Either way I'd pull the balancer before the engine just to be sure.

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
IDK Justin it will be interesting to see what you find. I would just imagine if the crank was actually broken it would not run at all or something would find it's way out of the block, but then I'm a novice you're the real diesel mech. We went a long time never seeing a broken crank but then Todd C had one. That's the only confirmed one I can remember through 7-8 years of trolling these forums and TDS. Could it be something like piston slap or bad bearings?

funnyman06

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Something isn't right there... if the crank actually broke i wouldn't think it would continue to run, wouldn't it just kind of die a painful death?

janos1

That's gonna hurt
Reaction score
Definitely broke, prolly after the first of crank throws IMHO. Seen 'em broke after the fact but never seen one broke and run.

dyoung14

Is getting worn out
Reaction score
WOW:eek: yea there defintley something wrong going on, broke crank is a good possibility

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Holy crap you werent kidding, I should have looked at it yesterday when IWas there.

It is broke thru the first counterweight I bet. I have a crank
I bet the oil pump gear isnt happy.

icanfixall

Official GMM hand model
Reaction score