Why we call him Smokey (can you help?)

6xCrew

Newb
Reaction score
In general this truck just smokes and runs bad. This was/is planed to be my doner for my 76 project. I have a second engine for parts swapping but need to know where to start. I am very new to these.

So if a pic is worth a 1000 words then this vid should be worth a 1000 pics?

This is 29Mb (the youtube vid is having issues.
http://www.deanstud.com/videos/Smokey.wmv

It has new glow plugs and new injectors. I am sure it needs to be timed. I did the injectors but a PO did the glow plugs. It sounds like a dead hole or 2 but we do not know for sure. I worry that the PO did not do the GP's right and left a tip in a hole. Bent valve? Far as I know it has not been overheated.

It was warm today and I let the GP's do there thing and I gave it no fuel.

Let me know what you think please,

Calvin

Cheaper Jeeper

Full Access Member
Reaction score
In general this truck just smokes and runs bad. This was/is planed to be my doner for my 76 project. I have a second engine for parts swapping but need to know where to start. I am very new to these.

This is 29Mb (the youtube vid is having issues.
http://www.deanstud.com/videos/Smokey.wmv

It has new glow plugs and new injectors. I am sure it needs to be timed. I did the injectors but a PO did the glow plugs. It sounds like a dead hole or 2 but we do not know for sure. I worry that the PO did not do the GP's right and left a tip in a hole. Bent valve? Far as I know it has not been overheated.

It was warm today and I let the GP's do there thing and I gave it no fuel.

Calvin

Has the IP ever been off of it? Symptoms kinda' look/sound like what was wrong with mine when I first got it. Smoked like a house on fire, lots of "powerstroke rattle" and W-A-A-Y underpowered (like it had a couple of dead cylinders).