WMO observations on a 97 PSD...

Greenbeast6.9

grease monkey
Reaction score
Well i have been chasing down a HPOP leak and i still cannot find it, but upon removal of the injectors i found that the tips were blocked and had a lot of carbon on them. I would assume this is from my 50% WMO mix. I have been running it this way for about two months. This does not mean that this happens to every ones injectors, but I thought i would share. I am going to continue to run a WMO mix, but this time I am going to go with an additive to see if I can get rid of the carbon. Let me know if you all have any ideas.

On another note i found that one injector bore has a little bit of antifreeze sitting in the bottom of the hole. What could this be caused by? The injector also had some surface rust on it. Could it be cracked and exposed to a water jacket?

Attachments

• DSC00310-2.jpg
    DSC00310-2.jpg
    138.4 KB · Views: 21
  • DSC00309-1.jpg
    DSC00309-1.jpg
    138.1 KB · Views: 22
  • DSC00311-1.jpg
    DSC00311-1.jpg
    146.9 KB · Views: 20

sassyrel

Reaction score
put water mist injection on it--it will steam clean things inside as it runs--have it come on with boost---

Russ

Idont do injectors
Reaction score
Are you cold starting on the 50/50 mix, or starting on diesel, then switching to the 50/50 mix after warm up?

Double-S-Diesel

parts seller
Reaction score
the antifreeze is a leaky injector cup.
as for the carbon build up that could also be caused by a bad injectors, Ive see that on straight diesel trucks

FWIW I just pulled the injectors on my 95 which is running 2/3 wvo and the injectors were covered with carbon but not all the same. I know the injctors were bad though

RKOCH

Fellow Oil Burner
Reaction score