trying to leave town truck won't start

NintendoKD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm a vet, trying to get the hell outta cali and back home, 2200 miles to VA. My truck won't start
92' f350 7.3 idi. e40d pulled the starter and had it tested, good, pulled the relay, it's good too, checked all fuses and relays, good. changed the nss. put in a new starter switch "funny looking box under the steering column with copper pins a bolt through the middle holds the connector to it", still nothing. I'm stumped. I have no power on the starter wire when key is in start position. when it is in run I get 5-7vdc. what now? I can run a jump wire from the hot side of the pass battery to the s terminal on the starter relay and she turns strong, and will even start with the help of a buddy turning the key. otherwise wts lights engage, glows light but when I turn it to go nothing, just dead silence. what gives? What now?

my other post is here:

Last edited:

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
not quite sure what starter switch you're talking about. If it's what I'm thinking about, the one with the rod from the key switch going into it, it is possible that it might be out of adjustment. Can you loosen the nuts and slide it a little closer to the steering wheel? If that's not it, maybe the pot metal piece that guides the rod I mentioned. It's close to the key switch and you have to pull the steering wheel to see it. If that's broken, the rod won't move far enough forward to start with the key. My Bronco has this problem. I'm waiting for warmer weather to fix it. If you really need to get home, surely you can jump across the solenoid like you mentioned. It's not a good way to do it, but hey, it's an emergency right? Who cares as long as it will get you there.

NintendoKD

Full Access Member
Reaction score