tools diesels are bigger

jimraelee

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey so I've noticed changing oil on these big IDI's filters are much bigger than my other cars... Ahh DUH. with the instructions of 1)spin filter on to contact with filter mount 2) 1 full revolution additional 3) complete... that filter is on pretty tight. I've bent a NAPA (blue handle) oil wrench already... Is there any heavy duty oil wrenches out there???

thx

6 Nebraska IDIs

Reaction score
Um, I never use a filter wrench to put a filter ON, only to take it off. Hand tight, as tight as you can get it, with a little oil on the gasket, and you're good to go. I was a mechanic for 5 years, and I never had a problem with it before during or after my stint as a mechanic.

Classicfordguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ya, I don't even get my idi filter or any other as tight as I can with my hand, even that tight makes it hard to get off. I can don't have a filter wrench big enough for my idi, I'v always been able to get any filter off with my hands and have never had a problem.

-Rob

jimraelee

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yea well I've done the same when I use to wrench on cars and light trucks ( dont remember servicing and Diesels. I think that knocking sound scared me away)... just spin on hand tight, little oil on the rubber seal. However when I pulled the old off, and looked at the new, with the 1,2,3,4 I figured it was something different with a Diesel.... Ok, I will just go back to the way I use to do it.. .spin on hand tight and grunt for a little extra... thanks much

69dieselfreak

well that nice
Reaction score
I my experience if you do not put the filter on with a wrench it will vibrate loose.

yep on diesels anyway
you could check with your local snap-on dealer mac matco cornwell what ever you find the better price but they should have something for you

FordGuy100

Reaction score
I my experience if you do not put the filter on with a wrench it will vibrate loose.