INTERCOOLER

MARQ2277

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Okay all my idi brothers, I need to figure out how to make an intercooler for my 1990 F250 4X4 idi. I have an ATS turbo, and a bunch of other mods, most of the mods have been on the cheap to be honest (pump turned up, exhaust cut off, etc). Unfortunatly, I am a disabled vet, and I do not have the budget to go out and buy a shiny new anything. So, I have been thinking of ways of either getting cold air to my intake, or some sort of cheap intercooler. I have thought of putting a hood scop over where my K&N intake is, and installing a fan in the hood, right were the scoop would be. This would pull colder air right onto the filter itself. Or, getting a big radiator, and plumbing it as a cheap intercooler. I just know, if you run a turbo, you really have to have a way of getting colder air, . . . period. The other thing is, I will probably never have the funds to buy anything new. I had to save up for three months to buy my stage one (1) injectors. The truck, came with a brand new ATS turbo, so I got lucky there, but I have been trying to get everything else to match it ever since.

Anyway, I know there are a lot of you out there who are very intelligent, or have way better resources than myself, . . . so any help, and or ideas would be greatly appriciated!!

Marq

RLDSL

Diesel fuel abuser
Reaction score
If you rig any kind of hood scoop, make darn sure that you put a low spot in the tubing before it gets to anything important with a water drain valve ( you can scavenge one of those off an N/a air cleaner )

MARQ2277

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am kinda new to all this, and I am not sure what you mean by a low spot, and this tubing thing??