Biodiesel

Mikes91

Full Access Member
Reaction score
On our trip cross-country coming up... was wondering if there are any biodiesel stops along the way... I-40 East from California to South Carolina, with layovers in Houston and Lead Hill, AR... hahaha...

Can I run biodiesel with no modifications to the truck? Been hearing about it on the Midnight Trucking network... sounds like it is worth a shot.

Thank you,

Mike

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've been running B5 with no problem. Comes from a company called Amerigreen.

gandalf

Reaction score
Morning Mike,

I've been burning B99 biodiesel in my truck for about six months. I diluted it some when the cold weather came, but not sure it was absolutely necessary. We don't get quite cold enough to make that a necessity.

I've had no ill effects from the biodiesel. Our trucks are borderline on being ready, in stock form, for biodiesel. I've been watching my fuel lines and seen no leaks. I think the PO may have replaced them at some point, though that's only a guess. I get more smoke at startup, but thats only temperary. I've experienced no loss of power, and perhaps a slightly quieter and smoother running engine.

Take a look at this site: http://biodiesel.org/ They've got some good information, and a list of biodiesel purchase locations http://biodiesel.org/buyingbiodiesel/distributors/
From an entirely different perspective, I'd rather buy biodiesel and support some farmer in this country than buy dinojuice and support somebody who's raking me over the coals. I'll take care of my homeboy first, everytime.

If you want to test biodiesel. do so well in advance of your trip. Give yourself plenty of time for Murphy to ****** with you, and time to upgrade any/all rubber lines and parts to viton if necessary. Install a sacrificial fuel filter, and carry at least one spare.

Good luck, and keep us posted.

Mikes91

Full Access Member
Reaction score