12 valve Questions-you guys rock

12 valve owner

12valveowner
Reaction score
All of you guys who answer all my questions are always right. If it wasnt for you guys I would be broke going to the shop. I wish I could by you all a beer. Thanks well heres my truck its a 96 12 valve auto extcab longbed this truck has over 180;000 miles on it and runs like a dream. Im not a diesel mechanic but a airplane mechanic and bacically a jack of all trades master of none but for starters what is agood teardown manual for a 12 valve? I love this motor its none electrical. with only 180 ***** stock on a auto haulin 10,000 pounds just wasnt enuugh power I installed a #10 fuel plate with the wastegate fitting awesome difference. I put on 4inck exhaust straight from down pipe back and a K@N FOR breathing then added a cfm composite intake manifold. Im out for reliability but my tranny down shifts and up shifts after ahour of driving even going down hills. My plans are for a new torqe converter and adeep dish pan what do you mechanics think. I will get 50 horse injectors down the line. But I know I need gauges bad bad any recomendations. My truck isnt to fast but It is 7.3 POWERSTROKE EATER with the #10 fuel plate black smoke bellowed out at first filling up a intersection but IM not for looks so how much do I adjust the screw on the pump. I want power but dont want to hurt reliability. I need gauges bad I know but From what I hear black smoke is unburnt fuel so possible turbo upgrades may be needes I adjusted the rod with the spring to minamize black smoke. And when I floor my truck it then let off it sounds like the turbo is cavating making a shuuuuu shuuuuu noise for a moment but my buddys 24 valve dosent is that normal. If you have any answers please help I listen to you guys only im not a racer but pull a six place snowmobile trailer up big hills. My tranny up shifting and down shifting is getting bad so if and Ideas that would be great. Last I was getting 18 miles per gallon last