IDI noob questoins

phazertwo

Die Summer DIE!
Reaction score
I am in the process of pulling my tranny. I have lots of experience with smaller trucks (Tacomas are my specialty), and I have never had to worry about bracing the engine when pulling the tranny. The engine always just balanced, or leaned back just a tad into the fire wall.

So my first question is: Do I need to brace the engine in one direction or the other?

Q2: Should I remove the t-case or just get it all down in one shot? (I have a tranny jack that can handle the job, and it would save allot of time!)

Q3: Is it worth it to take the tranny tunnel off, and re-seal it when I am done, or just leave it on?

thanks guys for all the help!!

PZ

Agnem

Using the Force!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
No, you do not HAVE to brace the engine, but I always put a block of wood under the back edge of the oil pan just to help hold it still, and cover any possibilities. These trans are going to be a bit heavier than what your used to in rice land. I'd recommend seperating them. One is enough of a challenge. Here is the thing with your ZF5... you need to take the top cover off to make getting it in and out easier. It's better than taking off the tunnel cover. But beware... when you take the cover off, there is a tang and a spring that is precariously poised to go "Sprong!" Make sure you have the stub in neutral, and lift the cover streight up. After that, look down from above and you will see the tang and spring. Remove both and store until you are ready to re-assemble.

NapaBavarian

Dually driver 6.9
Reaction score