wmo causing metering valve to stick?

Christian9112

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I tried running a batch of 50/50 wmo that had been sitting for 7 months (wmo not diesel). starts right up but when I blip the throttle, the engine drops rpm too far and stalls out. I tried driving it and it would die if I let go of the throttle too fast. When It got in to WOT it ran ok. Every time it stalled It started right up. No power steering and no brake booster is a little scary tho. I've done a lot of research through the forums and it's looking like the IP metering valve is sticking. I tried flushing it with diesel kleen winterizing fuel in a new fuel filter and it seems to be ok now. I did try it in the afternoon at around 70 f. My question is, does the diagnosis match the problem? if so, is it a permanent damage? I have no knowledge in the IP department.

Engine info:
275k miles.
Original IP
15k miles delphi injectors.
Regulated black holley pump.
N/A

Im looking to buy R&D pump but he is always out of stock.

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yep, likely the wmo is too thick and causing the metering valve to stick. Justin (R&D) isn’t out of stock, he’s just not producing any pumps right now or for the last 6 months. He had issues with the fuel shop he had been using and is in the process of getting setup with a stand of his own and learning how to do it himself. The R&D pumps will come back just gonna take some time, he’s not going to rush it and end up with pumps having issues he would rather not sell any while he gets everything dialed in, understandably. I can build you a pump to whatever spec you need, since you’re na you can’t use a whole lot more than stock 5070 cal, but there’s nothing like a fresh pump.

Christian9112

Full Access Member
Reaction score