White/grey smoke from WMO

BeerKiller

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am looking to clean up the smoke under load from running waste oil. Truck is a 92 Cummins and I have been running 80WMO/20RUG mix for a few months now. Truck seems to run just fine but I have white/greyish smoke almost all the time. Every time I shift gears a big cloud comes out and I am looking to try and clean it up a little bit. I am not sure what the cause of it is except possibly unburnt fuel? Thank you for any help you may have.

BeerKiller

Reaction score
I will also add that I run the oil through a centrifuge at about 5gal an hour and the truck has a 5 micron filter on it. I don't heat the WMO on the truck currently.

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im just shooting from the hip, but since your Cummins is DI it probably needs the fuel heated. And your injectors, if they're stock, have a different spray than the IH IDI and might be coked causing the mist to be wrong and your burn to be incomplete. Once a month or so do a big hot blow out, pull a trailer load of stuff over hills for 40 miles, or spend a day racing everything that revs their engine at a red light. But you might pull an injector and look at it.

BeerKiller

Reaction score
Yea I did pull all of the injectors about 3 months ago and they didnt look too bad so I just cleaned them up and threw them back in. On the other hand, the spray could be shot as I think they are originals and have 325K on them. I would like to look at heating up the WMO but I havent researched enough to find the best method of doing so. I do get on her every now and then but she is no speed freak haha.

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score