What Heavy Duty Truck Makes/Years did the Detroit Diesel 12v71 come in?

johnb11

Reaction score
My Apologies up front as I attempted to ask this prior and the thread ended off in Egypt....

I am hoping to CLARIFY and will make this question as simple as I can for CLARITY reasons. Again, my apologies for the repetition but I am unable to find the information that I need.

THE QUESTION:
  • I need to know what Makes, Models and Years of VERY LARGE SEMI TRUCKS that the Detroit Diesel 12v71 came in. FOR EXAMPLE, Kenworths? What Years?, PeterBuilts? What Years? that had the Detroit Diesel 12v71?

• I am a car and truck builder.
  • I have a Shop.
  • I do fabrication.
  • I build custom chassis.
  • I have been doing this for over 30 years.
  • I know what a car and a truck is and what engines came in them stock.

The Project

• I have a 5 Ton 1955 Ford Pickup Dually that is the same shape and size as a Half Ton with a widened half ton bed on it.
  • I am going to put a Detroit Diesel 12v71 in my 1955 Ford Truck.
  • I need to find one of those VERY LARGE BIG GIANT HUGE BIGGEST LARGEST HUGEST SEMI HEAVY DUTY TRUCKS that had or has a Detroit Diesel 12v71 in it so that I can purchase it and use the parts to complete my build. That's why I need to know what large trucks these engines came in so that I can find one a buy it.

Again, my sincerest apologies for dumbing this down as I truly mean no offense.
As I stated I attempted to post this prior and I guess I was not clear enough.
I truly thank you all for your help and support in helping me track down this information.
thank you for your time and expertise.
Sincerely
J

Last edited:

StBernardnot

Reaction score
Back in the early 70' we had a 12v in a crackerbox GMC. This was in the Marine Corps at Camp Lejeune. It was used for transporting landing craft & other BIG heavy stuff.

snicklas

6.0 and Loving It!!
Staff member
Reaction score