What diesel??

Matt Henning

Reaction score
So I joined this forum because in the future I want to do a diesel swap or possibly multiple,

I prefer the gmt400 series or even the 99s era s10

I was recently looking at the 2 stroke detroit diesel as potential idea , I don't want to do a 4bt because it is so common, I wanted unique, goal is get mileage and power, I also looked into the isuzu NPR as an option but I'm still new to this I just know that I want a diesel that's good for mileage torque and possibly even power

Any suggestions for ease of swap as it will be my first, as well as recommendations for a good balance between power and economy

Silverado is my preferred truck of choice

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
Anything mechanically injected is easy, but you need something that can be adapted to a smaller (pickup) size trans.
You'd be better off sticking with a full size truck. Just because the size/weight of most diesels. Otherwise you may be doing some custom firewall and suspension work.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

DaveBen

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I would stay away from 2 cycle diesels. They are old and not very efficient. I had a Detroit Diesel 8V92TA in a dump truck and it worked well. Not the best fuel mileage but it was a Screamin Jimmy and it did go. In California we cannot even drive a diesel that is older then 2000. :***:

Matt Henning

Reaction score
I would stay away from 2 cycle diesels. They are old and not very efficient. I had a Detroit Diesel 8V92TA in a dump truck and it worked well. Not the best fuel mileage but it was a Screamin Jimmy and it did go. In California we cannot even drive a diesel that is older then 2000. :***:
Them screamin Jimmy's sound so good, I would think in a lighter truck like a Silverado it would do better on mileage. And have plenty of power

Sent from my SM-N970U using Tapatalk

u2slow

bilge rat
Reaction score