Water heater element to heat WMO

MontanaJack

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know that it has been done. In fact I've read a few posts on how well they work and the dangers involved.

I'm curious as to how one would go about wiring a 120v water heater element to the thermostat and then into an extension cord. I'm no electrician by any stretch of the imagination but I'm confident I could redneck something together. I would much prefer to do it correctly though.

Does anyone have pictures of how they've done it? A diagram? Or even a simple description in layman terms?

Clb

Another old truck
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Whatcha trying to do?
Whats the rating on the ellement?

MontanaJack

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'd like to put it in a 55gal drum that feeds WMO into my centrifuge. I believe these elements only get to about 150*-170*. That's not real close to boiling, but with enough time any water will steam itself away and it should allow me to feed my fuge a little faster without having to worry about it catching fire:D

Clb

Another old truck
Supporting Member
Reaction score
There are hi and low ellements! The amperage and wattage are what you need first off!
Most h2o heaters are run off 10 ga wire 30 amps' you would be pushing a 20 amp circuit hard! Second most are 220 volt 3o amp (2- 115-120v leads) and your homeowner 16ga cordset WILL NOT DUE, 220 cords are not cheap and usuay use twistlock ends!
You are on the right track,,,,
I have not run the equip. You are talking about so am a little blind here.
Sparky should chime in soon????
Have you looked in the alternate fuels section here for a primer?

MontanaJack

Full Access Member
Reaction score

AcIdBuRn02ZTS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
120v is gonna hurt you on power consumption/output.