Turn the Key - No Crank, No Start Issue: Lights on dash & Headlights come on

damedic

Is That Black Smoke
Reaction score
Greetings,

My '94 IDI Turbo will not crank over. E40D Tranny
Replaced 20 A Circuit Breaker in the fuse box under the dash, Still no Crank (someone told me to try that), I think it regulated some circuits including the ignition switch.
Hear the clicking, WTS glows, then goes out like normal, turn the key = Nothing.

Help! I am a newbie, and would like to start to know more about this truck and learn some things, like fix this problem.
Can I get a helper to assist me in diagnosing the problem, I know how to use a multimeter, I have a basic understanding of some things. With a step by step, and hey - pic's are great tool for my learning curve. I would truly appreciate the help :love:

From what I was able to find, the problems can vary: Bad Circ Brkr for Ignition Sw. Circuit, Bad starter or solenoid, bad voltage regulator, Bad ignition switch, Bad???

My problem is: I don't know how to test for these things.

I attached a picture of the Voltage Regulator? I seen someone use this as a testing starting point?
It appears that it is a 4 post? 2 main lugs on each side and 2 minor lugs top & bottom. Bottom one is empty.
I think I can tell that the smaller Red wire on the Left is going to starter/solenoid?
The larger Red wire/cable on the Right, is off of the Positive side of nearest battery.
Don't know if this is factory/common, but the 2 light grey wires (left of the lg.red cable) are spliced onto a larger cable going to the alternator. Why not just extend the same size wire from the alternator, all the way to the lug of the regulator? Unless this was a previous owners repair/splice?
The other wires I have no clue where they may be going or their function? (if someone knows, I guess that would be good info to know?)

Thanks in advance

medic

Attachments

• 94 Ford Volt Reg.jpg
    94 Ford Volt Reg.jpg
    610 KB · Views: 97

madpogue