Trans and engine swap help

Glsawyer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I was sent here from another forum. Was told might find more helo here. I hope thats true.
I guese ill start with the basics of my swap.

Truck: 2005 f350sd. 5.4 trition. 4x4. Xl. 6spd. Crew cab shorty.

I love it. Except for the useless 5.4. I cant afford nor do i want a ps. Although they are good rigs. I had a zf6 before and loved it.

So i am doing a weird swap..... 5.4 to 7.3idi. With a zf6.

Not easy. But i love the idi. The noise. Smell. How reliable and easy to work on they are.

Putting the motor in the truck is easy. My problem lies with the trans. As mine is gas it wont just bolt to an idi.

I can try to trade my trans and t-case for one from a diesel but that takes time.

So is there a way to adapt my zf6 to fit the idi? If not then what about transfering my guts to a diesel zf6 main case? My trans is low miles. And im a broke college student.

Glsawyer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I do know that the top bolt on a idi and ny trans wont line up. But what about the others?

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’m not super familiar with zf6s but I do not think the gas zf6 will fit behind the idi, I know even the zf6 behind the psd has to be drilled out to match the idi mounting.

Realistically the zf6 has no benefit over the zf5 other than the extra granny gear, not an extra overdrive as most think. You would be better of with a diesel zf5 behind the idi for simplify imo

Glsawyer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I use the granny alot off road as i work at a tow yard and often need it to pull stuck cars

79jasper

Chickenhawk
Reaction score
I just put the tcase in low range. Lol
If someone had 3.55 or higher, along with taller tires, I could see the the extra Low gear being beneficial.
You know you have to run a trans cooler right?

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

Glsawyer

Full Access Member
Reaction score