Tire Talk...

HammerDown

Full Access Member
Reaction score
With almost 50% tread left...It's tire time (again)...thanks to a busted belt!
255/85/16 is what I've been running for +15 years
Dunlop A/T Radial Rover has been on it since 2002 and to be honest they simply don't last. After a few years they show dryrot and this is the second set of Dunlops that has a busted belt! These tires NEVER go off road or hit a curb etc as I'm very easy and careful with my driving habits.

*Think I'm done with Dunlop!:puke:

Any suggestion on a A/T (more HWY) ORW letter tire in this size?
Please, no big-lug mudders etc.;Really

Thanks Ray

Last edited:

HammerDown

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the above reply...but again, I'm looking for some other feedback on 255/85/16 size rubber.

colotow

I refuse to grow up
Reaction score
kelly awr radials, that's the same size i have on my 99 right now. they have 3 tread patterns, msr, dtr, and the awr. awr is the mildest pattern. they are rated for the same gross as the oem 235-85/16 grabbers, and work on a dually without spacers.

i used to run a super duty service truck, had 11,000+ on the rears and these were the best tires i ever had, hold up great, almost no sidewall flex, quiet, and good in snow. dte would be much better if you see much mud. prices are real reasonable. i got mine thru a jim paris tire, friend worked there got me a smoking deal.

the other tire i've looked at was the goodyears gsa, i wanted the 37/12.5 but that big only came in 17" and had no luck finding wider rims for them, did't want to put them on 6" rim. biggest thing was, they are rated for 4030 PER TIRE, double the oem grabbers. saw a tire site, everyone who was running them raved about them.

rubberfish

Reaction score
LT255/85/16's are a great size but with little choice.
I was unhappy with the Dunlop mudders I had before.
Wish I could help you, but I switched over to 285/75's and