Running hot and losing 1/2 gallon of oil per tank of fuel

Amy hubbard

Reaction score
@ gandalf. I have put the 385,000 miles on and so I suppose learning about my truck is on going, however finding the idi tech articles and oilburners.net a couple years ago has saved me a few broken knuckles, several tools, my sanity, my pocket change and probably my truck itself! This is the 1st time with a timing issue. Ive read and read, i dont recall anything on the extreme heat radiating from my engine bay into my cab. And the heat keeps radiating long after I turn her off. I borrowed an diesel adapter and now I am studying " how the timing light works.
You must be registered for see images attach
You must be registered for see images attach

Black dawg

Reaction score
I would disconnect that hose up where it goes into the air box, and run the engine. There should be good flow out of it. Your set up looks all stock, I have seen that hose pinched underneath the airbox, and I have seen a cdr valve that was stuck shut.....

CBRF3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
if you got that kind of blowby you either got stuck / broken rings or a cracked pistons these motors cannot take the fuel / heat like a direct injected diesel our motors run super high compression and our pistons are cast pistons without a steal top so they swell in the bore when get hot and pinch the rings in the ring groove on piston often cracking or busting the rings our motors you have to watch EGT's carefully and back out when it gets over 1000f you can push the EGT's short burst to around 1150fish in a pinch but not often or it will cause our piston tops to crack and also crack our flame cups in our heads.