Rotella 15w40 vs Rotella 15w40 Full Synthetic

raeasler

Reaction score
Simple questions:

Which one is better for the 6.9 IDI ?
Any advantage of using one over the other ?
Anyone use the Rotella of either "blend" ?

Reason for asking is that I'm due for an oil change and I can get a gallon of Rotella 15w40 for $12.50. The Synthetic is obviously a little more expensive.

Not sure how quickly the synthetic turns black. Again I am.guessing that it would stay cleaner longer but in have no idea as I have ZERO experience with the regular vs synthetics in the diesels.

u2slow

bilge rat
Reaction score
IMO, well-used diesels pollute your oil with soot really fast.

For that reason, I go with cheaper oil and change it more often.

typ4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
My IDI's dont like rotella, or to be more specific, they like it a lot. They consume no other brand except this one.

Fredrickson

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This past Saturday I had to repair a small leak in the bottom of the oil pan.

I drained the pan, and left the plug out for almost 24 hours. Those last few drips take a while...and I wanted the pan as empty as possible.

Fixed the leak, spun on a new FL-1995, and added Rotella 15w40 T4 non-synthetic

Started it up, let it run for a few minutes to circulate, checked the level.. the oil was black already.

So as a point of comparison, conventional oil lasted less than 15 minutes before turning black. Lemme know who long synthetic takes. ;)

By the way my local wally world was completely out of conventional Rotella, so I ended up getting it at Home Depot.. for about $13/gal

CDX825

filtration nut
Reaction score
My 6.9 takes about 1500 miles to turn the oil black. That being said I have run 5W40 synthetic in the winter to help with cold starts. Neither turned black faster than the other.