Radiator swap

Crashnsnap

Reaction score
I have a 1988 s1600 International with a 7.3 diesel. I currently have it torn apart and found out my radiator needs to be replaced. I want to replace the fan clutch with electric fans and a newer aluminum radiator. Has anyone tried this? I figure while I have it torn apart i might as well upgrade everything, I'm just not sure what radiator I can use. I won't be doing much towing with it and i live in Florida, so there aren't hills to worry about. Plus this will be more of a low rider then a heavy hauler. I've swapped out the rear axle with a 96 dodge 3500 rear end already.

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
Crashnsnap,

Be patient, someone should reply, the challenge is most of us have a Ford F250/350 or E250/350 on this site. But some have other IDI based rigs. So may take a little longer for some feedback.

Let us know how it turns out!

franklin2

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have no experience with that particular truck, so I don't know where you can get a radiator. I have been using the aluminum ones off ebay. 1st one lasted 10 years, so I am on my second one.

On the electric fans I caution you on that. I personally would not do it unless you are willing to spend some time and money. 1st off, those electric fans you can buy at the local parts stores for less that $100 each are not good enough. I ran 2 16 inch versions on my truck, and it would not keep it cool.

Also running those two fans, the alternator could barely keep up when I had the fans going, the lights going, and the A/C on high.