R&D vs Type4 cam?

dunk

Dunce
Reaction score
What are the differences in these cams? Any other cams available for the IDI? I've never built turbo motors or diesels before so not sure what exactly we're looking for in a turbo cam for a diesel. Currently running a 6.9 with Banks non wastegate, going to a hotter pump and likely changing to a different/better turbo at some point this year.

R&D:
Intake Duration: 178*@.050"
Exhaust Duration 190*@.050"
Lobe Sep: 108*
Lift: Int .410"/ Exh .412"

Type4:
What are specs on this? As best I can tell lift is .392"/.380", correct?
What is duration at .050"?

What is stock cam specs? Wishing I had degreed the cam in a parts motor I had a while back. What are we looking for in a cam for a turbo IDI?

How about lifters? I'd be comfortable replacing them on a 100k+ mile engine when changing the cam. What is available and what is good quality?

Anyone have experience with either cam or both? What are your engine specs? What changes in power, towing, torque, MPG did you notice?

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
i have Russ's cam,
i asked about the specs, but he was real hush hush about it..lol
i have not ran it yet. hoping to get this project done soon.

heres a "stock turbo cam" sold by grumpys.

I E
.050" Duration 176 184
Cam Lift .253" .253"

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1994-IHC-Na...ash=item3f2a402f50:g:eysAAOxyL7hSUGag&vxp=mtr

83-94 N/A?

Cam Lift -- Int."/Exh."

.253/.253
.050" Duration -- Int./Exh.

176/184
Lobe Seperation Angle

103/105

http://www.ebay.com/itm/88-94-Ford-...ash=item19d2cb62c3:g:bWgAAOSw-W5UrUvd&vxp=mtr

Clb

Another old truck
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Somewhere here there is a comparo of them. Been a year or so.
Iirc
Rus is for pulling

Last edited:

racer30

Full Access Member
Reaction score