Powerstroke's and WMO?

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I know this is the IDI forum, but I also know some of you have experience with both and the WMO stuff is far more prevalent here.

I have a friend with access to lots of hydraulic oil, pretty clean to start with and he's filtering to 2 microns (probably 4 absolute), and wants to run it in his 2000 7.3 Powerstroke.

Anybody have any thoughts or experience with WMO/ATF blends in Powerstrokes?

Greenbeast6.9

grease monkey
Reaction score
I have been doing it for a few months now, like 50-50 mix of #2 and WMO. I have yet to have a problem. These trucks seem to love burning this stuff! Just don't get carried away with the mix and all will be well.;Sweet

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well, Nick Scarpa (Double-S-Diesel) is running WVO and WMO blends in his Super Duty, apparently with no ill effects. The PSD has an advantage over the IDI in two ways
1) The design of the heads and the HEUI system assure that that alternative fuel will be very hot before it hits the cylinder and pistons or even the injection nozzle, so it can then be of a viscoscity more like D2, and can therefore be atomized and burnt properly
2) No fine rotary injection pump to foul up as each HEUI pumps its own fuel
The disadvantages
1) Smaller DI nozzle openings more vulnerable to plugging(possibly?)
2) Computers might get upset with you(probably not too likely)

Greenbeast6.9

grease monkey
Reaction score
You shouldn't' have a problem with the WMO clogging your injectors as your PSD has a filter that filters fine enough not to let that happen. And the comp won't care what you are burning.;Sweet

Diesel JD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Only cons I could think of Greenbeast, good to know it isn't a worry. I was talking with a friend of mine about this issue and we've sort of concluded that the 7.3 PSD is one of the few motors truly well suited to burning any type of straight oil.

Greenbeast6.9