Powerstroke Replacement

YJMike92

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been hanging around on the forum for a couple of months now enjoying all the threads and decided to start a thread of my own. I have begun a project that will be a work in progress for a considerable time.
A little background is in order. In 1998 I purchased a 1994.5 Powerstroke F350 4X4 single cab long bed. It's been a great truck but things change and I need a little more room in the cab. Or to put it a different way, my wife is tired of traveling in such cramped quarters. As I see vehicles age and their electronics fail I decided to go back to basics. That is where the project begins. Enter the 1993 7.3L IDI Turbo F350 4x2 extended cab long bed dually. I have already done a fair amount of maintenance and minor upgrades before a recent 3500-mile trip last month which I may list at a later time. The trip allowed me to see if I liked the truck enough to invest the time and money it would take and also where the immediate needs were. The ultimate goal is Power equal to hopefully better than the Powerstroke and converting to a 4X4.
All input would be welcome. The picture was taken the day she arrived in August. The tires have been replaced and wheel simulators have been removed otherwise it looks the same.
You must be registered for see images attach

YJMike92

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey guys any thoughts on a compression tester? I'm looking at an ATD 5680 they Sell for around $110.00 Give or take $5.00
I posted the link below. I'm sure it's not the best quality. I have to establish some baseline readings before too much work is performed compression, timing etc.

https://www.tylertool.com/atd-5680-...SA&utm_term=4581596235128129&utm_content=Cart

Thewespaul

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score