Newbie intro and radiator questions

Ryan Cowper

Reaction score
Hey yall, I've been looking around for an inexpensive running project IDI for a while now and I finally took the plunge! Picked up a 1989 F250 7.3 IDI/NA with a 5 speed manual trans. 170,000 farm truck. For better or worse, over the last 10 years, it was only used to get hay and tow the horse trailer to the mountains.

I have limited experience wrenching and I bought this thing to learn on. Hopefully folk's will bare with a newbie and field some questions that might otherwise seem dumb. I'll start with the top of my list.

On my way home from purchasing this beast, the radiator cracked at the seam on the top tank. Not big deal, as it didn't loose much coolant and never got hot. I did, however use hose water to top off the rad and drive it another 50 miles. Now it sits till I can get the rad fixed and the coolant properly flushed.

I took it in to the only shop around that actually repairs radiators. I hoped they'd just solder it and send me on my way. The guys there said it'd be 50\50... might destroy the tank trying to seperate it for resoldering. They say once they open it up they might realize it needs to be recored and they'd be happy to do it for $700. I thought that was too much and said thanks but no thanks. I went to the autoyard and found a good looking pressure tested brass\copper radiator from an 92' auto trans IDI. They want $80 for it.

Couple of questions:

Will it fit?

The auto trans radiator has the trans oil cooler lines on the bottom tank. I figured I could splice the lines together to keep the muck out of the lines (why not, someone might want to use it down the road). But what's getting me... besides the lower radiator hose stub, there's an additional 5\8" stub coming out of the bottom tank next to the petcock. What's it for? As memory serves me, my rad has 2 stubs - one for upper and one lower rad hoses and that's it.