New to me 86 6.9l - What now?

RSchanz

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey All,

I just got home to California after finding an 86 6.9l f250 in Idaho and driving it back. The truck has 148,000 miles on it and it seems to be in pretty solid condition. Fuel pump busted on the drive home and I replaced that. I burnt through probably almost a half qt of oil on a 680mile drive, I'm new to diesel engines... seems like a lot? Doesn't seem to visibly smoke much, only when I gas it a little more to climb etc.

Any pointers on what to tackle/check first? I read Agnem's sticky on "New to the IDI..." and found a ton of helpful information when looking at the vehicle. The radiator basically had no fluid in (which I read the warning to possibly not buy if this is the case) so I filled it to the top and bought a new radiator cap. I purchased it from what I perceived to be an honest farmer so I don't really suspect anything is off. I'll definitely be on here often looking for advice on replacing things, I've already got a small list :). Excited to trade in the 63 GMC for this and start getting to know how these diesel engines work.

You must be registered for see images attach

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
Definitely a good trade.:Thumbs Up It sounds like a lot of oil usage, but it's not really terrible. I would keep driving it for a while and see how it does. It may just need to be driven. Another thing to keep in mind is that a lot of us say that these engine like to burn Shell Rotella oil. You could also try switching to a different brand at the next oil change.

david85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome!

Mine would burn 1 qt per fillup before I rebuilt it. Most of it was probably getting past the valve stem seals (which were completely rotted away). Compression was still good and the truck ran fine otherwise. The rebuild was due to glow plug tips breaking off into the engine.