1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just added a hypermax intercooler, can't reach fuel filter..

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by DiecellDan, Oct 25, 2020.

  1. DiecellDan

    DiecellDan Full Access Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Location:
    Tx
    Just added a hypermax intercooler and can't access the fuel filter. Any suggestions?
     
  2. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    It sounds like you need to install a remote fuel filter that's located on the fender or some place other than the stock location.
     
    genscripter, DiecellDan and riphip like this.
  3. chris142

    chris142 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,858
    Likes Received:
    285
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    There is no rules that say it has to stay in that spot
     
    DiecellDan, IDIBRONCO and riphip like this.
  4. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    It could even be mounted along the frame. Even though I don't really like the idea myself, I'm going to be doing it in the future.
     
    DiecellDan likes this.
  5. DiecellDan

    DiecellDan Full Access Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Location:
    Tx
    are there any kits for this?
     
  6. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    17,209
    Likes Received:
    1,802
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    All you need is some fuel line?....


    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
  7. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    Not that I
    Not that I'm aware of. You have to make your own. Maybe Wes wants another product to offer? It's not like he already has enough or any thing.:joker:
     
  8. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    I will say that my biggest thing to be paranoid about this is the possibility of something being thrown up off of the road and puncturing a filter. When I do this, I'm going to put a metal piece in front and probably underneath the filter/s for protection. My other big gripe is having to lay underneath your truck to change the filters, but it's something that I cam live with.
     
    riphip, Scotty4 and chillman88 like this.
  9. Scotty4

    Scotty4 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    755
    Likes Received:
    604
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Washington
    My eventual goal is to have a flat bed and in one of the boxes below, have a dual filter sytem and maybe selector switch moved in there so its easy to acces on its own and protected.
     
    YJMike92 likes this.
  10. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    That's actually a pretty good idea. I don't want a flat bed though so it won't help me.
     
    YJMike92 and Scotty4 like this.
  11. Scotty4

    Scotty4 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    755
    Likes Received:
    604
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Washington
    Truck toolbox and just partition an area off to have a fuel system in there? If you placed it high enough to be the highpoint for air venting it would help too.

    Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
     
  12. IDIBRONCO

    IDIBRONCO IDIBRONCO

    Posts:
    6,521
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    edmond, ks
    With my loading, not to mention the slide in camper, I don't want a bed mounted tool box either. I could basically build a metal box along the frame to put the filters in if I wanted to.
     
  13. genscripter

    genscripter Full Access Member

    Posts:
    578
    Likes Received:
    348
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Location:
    Inglewood, CA

    I'm sure it can't be that bad in a truck. Try accessing anything behind the banks air intake system on an IDI van.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. tjsea

    tjsea Full Access Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    633
    Likes Received:
    359
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Lickdale, PA
    Just install a flexible hose instead of hard line from the filter to the pump. Conestoga sells a kit for this reason, but you could probally make one pretty easy yourself.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
     
  15. Suddenly

    Suddenly Registered User

    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2019
    Location:
    Edmonton AB
    Got a picture? My intercooler piping interferes with my air cleaner, all I do is undo the clamps and rotate it out of the way if I need access. How often do you need to access your filter?
     
    genscripter likes this.

Share This Page