Injectors or timing?

fordw60s

Reaction score
Hey guys, been lurking for a while and reading a bunch but some things are hard to learn with out having the ability to learn from someone. I'm having a hard time figuring out if my issue us timing or injectors. I do not have much experience with diesals so I'm still learning.

The history of the truck is it is an '93 f350 with 120k on the odo. I got it with 84k in 2014 and it is all original till recently. My problems started when I hired a guy to change my glow plugs, reseal the injection gear cover, and replace the CDR. After I got it back I kept feeling a miss and it was running a higher temp. It was knocking way louder than before and I found a return line leaking so replaced it and found more leaking. So I parked it until I had good cover to work on it. It's been a year and a half since.

I finally got parts to replace the fuel pump, water pump, Thermostat, return fuel lines radiator hoses and idler pulleys. Now it wil have loud injectors at high idle (cold start) but will settle some once it warms up. Thought all was ok but drove it and I was basicly rolling coal and was sluggish.

Any thoughts on this? Once I get a chance I'll get a video of the engine running. I know this is a long post sorry. If yall think it is timing where do I get the stuff to time it now a days?

All I have is an induction timing light for Gas motors.
Thanks for any info.

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
My first guess would be that the guy got your IP gear out of time. It's easy to do if you pull the gear housing off. There was several of us who bought timing meters off of some Ebay sellers a little while back. They are listed as being for Humvees, but those meters will work just fine with our engines. If you want to use a light, yours actually can be used with these meters even though it's for a gas engine.

fordw60s

Reaction score