IDI out of fuel

adamsanders

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hello, first time poster here. Last week I bought a 1991 F250 7.3L. It needed a few odds n ends like glow plugs and an alternator but otherwise ran good. I took it out on Saturday and noticed what felt like a small miss. I would stop, the idle would fluctuate up and down and then it would recover. It done this several times and then finally just died and wouldn't start back. I noticed my fuel gauge was at about 1/8 of a tank and after doing some reading, I think I might have ran out of fuel. I am completely new to diesels so instead of adding fuel and bleeding at the filter, I removed the filter and turned the engine over to see if fuel would come out at the filter. It didn't, but I'm not sure it would anyways. Also, I realized that I introduced an enourmous amount of air. I've tried bleeding at the Schrader valve with the filter full while cranking but I'm not getting any fuel out. Any suggestions? Also does this sound like a simple case of air in lines or the lift pump failing? Thanks.

OLDBULL8

Good Morning Ya'll.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
When this falls off or simply deteriorates (see pic.), you run out of fuel, normally its at about a 1/4 tank. There is one in each tank. You have to drop the tanks to replace. Check prices on ebay and from dealer.
Fill it to at least 1/2 tank.
Gonna take a lot of cranking to get all the air out and fuel to the injectors.
Only crank for 20 seconds, let the starter cool for 2 minutes or you'll be changing it.
Keep a battery charger on the batteries. Takes two days to charge them up full at 10 - 15 Amps charging.
Get a remote starter button, there cheap, so you can keep bleeding air at the filter Schrader valve.

You must be registered for see images attach

junk

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Couple things here. Purging these engines cold using the starter is a pain. It's easy to burn up a starter this way. - What bill said.