I have an idea.... will this work???

that stinky ford

Reaction score
Look at my sig. It is a reg. cab long box, and it is pretty rusty. The cab has a long history of shady body work, and its second (atleast) set of rockers and cab corners are going to $hit. No passenger side floor. A new cab would be easier. How ridiculous of an idea is it to go from SCLB to ECSB (ext.cab short box)??? In other words, how much longer is an ext cab than a standard cab, and how much shorter is a short bed? Is ford short bed 6' or 6.5'?

NO_SPRK

User & Abuser
Reaction score
Short beds are 6.5 feet usually.. problem with your idea is the frame...

Ext cab frames don't kick up till after the cab. A single cab truck kicks up sooner so it would hit the bed.

Ive always wanted a 2wd ext cab shortbed idi zf5

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

franklin2

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have never done it before, but have heard you can retro fit a longer cab on a regular cab frame if you use a body lift on the longer cab that lifts the cab high enough to clear the kick-up in the regular cab frame. But then your bed options will be mostly a custom length flatbed.

lotzagoodstuff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Go extended cab and then just go with a flatbed, or if you really like your rig for sentimental reasons and you have more time than money, look around and find yourself a nice single cab to start with and keep it original. I've done lots of rust repair from my days back in Cleveburg, and all I can say is the cleaner a cab you start with, the happier you'll be in the long run.

Good luck, whether you end up with a single or super cab

asmith

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Last edited:

Iowa 73

FNM
Reaction score
Part it out and get an extended cab. You'll be time and money ahead.

that stinky ford

Reaction score