Help! Broke down in Jacksonville Fl. need a water pump and some one to install it

saburai

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi Gang!
We caught some bad luck! My Wife and I are on the road north pulling our 30ft RV with our '90 7.3 idi F-250. We arrived in Jax at a friend's house and started smelling coolant. Leaking a stream out the bottom near where the pump housing mates to the block. We're o.k. in that we are at a friend's house so we have a place to stay with out hemorrhaging money, so that's good. The problem is that we have a business commitment in NY on Thursday. I'm a pretty fair mechanic, but the tools are packed up pretty tight and mostly we're falling behind schedule for the upcoming business in NY. Can anyone help? Recommend a shop nearby? We'd be happy to pay someone or a shop who could be trusted with the job. I'm reading the water pump threads right now...

shawn deere

So many wrenches, so little time...
Reaction score
Its not too bad of a job. Just watch the top two bolts on it. - some variation can extend into the timing gears and cause some hate and discontent. New water pump is less than $50 i believe

Macrobb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Um... Not sure about the shop or anyone who could help, but replacing the water pump isn't a huge job. It's a greasy pain, but not too hard - a day job if you have a few tools.

Basically, it's a matter of removing:
1. The fan.
2. Belts.
3. The shroud, for clearance. I tend to just cut mine, and take if off in two pieces if needed.
4. Any brackets that bolt to the water pump(with a 90, you should have a v-belt system; PS and AC brackets need to be removed)
5. Remove the water pump pulley bolts.
6. Pry off water pump, making sure you have a catch bucket.
7. Clean up gasket surface