guide coats for the rookie

IDIoit

MachinistFabricator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
ive almost got the truck 100% sanded.
1 more door to go! :rolleyes:

i have all of the clear sanded off the 5 other doors.
some of it is down to bare metal, the majority of it still has base coat on.

this isnt going to be a show quality paint job, but i do want it to look "nice"

with the dings and dents i have on this truck, i want to spray it with a guide coat.
and then block it out to find my low spots instead of trying to get it right with the naked eye.

im no professional painter, nor am i a painter at all.

but i do know that blocking a vehicle with a guide coat over the primer is the correct way to go about this.

my question is, whats the best material to use for a guide coat?

all i have is some rattle can etching primer and some enamel.

i thought about spraying some enamel on it, but i think that this will upset all of the work ive done,
and potentially giving me poor spots if some of the enamel isnt taken off all the way..

what should i use?

G. Mann

Full Access Member
Reaction score
A light spray of a contrasting color... [OK.. not hot pink]... but if your primer is medium or dark gray.. a white spray bomb will work.. Hold it back about 18 to 24 inches and put down enough to only make dots of color about 1/2 inch apart... it should be "dry fast" paint.. no oil based enamel.