Fuel selector valve

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by pelky350, May 13, 2018.

  1. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    1,534
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    Yes
     
  2. DrCharles

    DrCharles Full Access Member

    Posts:
    385
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    If it's leaking and sucking air, yes it can ;)
     
  3. pelky350

    pelky350 Full Access Member

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Springfield, OR
    Haven't really noticed leaks beside the rear tank areas but I only run the front tank. Maybe since it's usually under negive pressure it's not leaking out but could Be letting air in somewhere. But I suppose changing it out isn't gonna hurt anything. Also considering selling my oversized rear tank I got and just installing another stock one in the rear. Haven't installed giant tank but I don't see why I'm gonna need a 50 gallon rear tank, I like fuel stations lol
     
  4. SebastIDIan

    SebastIDIan Full Access Member

    Posts:
    180
    Likes Received:
    71
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Location:
    South Florida / Hudson Valley NY
    With a 50 gallon tank you can do away with the stupid valve.
    I'm gonna run 1/2 line from one tank to another and bypass the valve.
     
  5. pelky350

    pelky350 Full Access Member

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Springfield, OR
    What kind of a cruel joke is this?? Why did they put the selector valve behind the front tank?? There is like 5 feet of free space before the tank and mine Is located behind the tank??
     
  6. towcat

    towcat Administrator Staff Member

    Posts:
    17,861
    Likes Received:
    918
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    SantaClara,Ca/Hamilton,TX
    told ya it was going to be an adventure.
     
    chillman88 likes this.
  7. Clb

    Clb Another old truck Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,167
    Likes Received:
    176
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Location:
    nannyfornia

    UNDERSTATEMENT of the day right there.
    F ukkin
    O verly
    R ediculouse (sp)
    D esign
     
  8. pelky350

    pelky350 Full Access Member

    Age:
    24
    Posts:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Springfield, OR
    So what I'm gonna do first is maybe plug my extra sender into the front tanks plug on my harnes and have a buddy I'm the cab to see if when I actuate the sender fin it reads on my guage. Before that I'm gonna read the ohms on my sender on the meter and see what's it says and check that with the resistance it and supposed to be before I fight the valve . Then I want to see if any lines at the tanks are leaking and maybe Inspect my tank and float assembly since it appears I can get It out without removing my tank yet. And then I may just remove my bed to do the rest of the tank swap work possibly, just installed a new bed so bolts aren't seized and messed up anymore lol
     
  9. snicklas

    snicklas 6.0 and Loving It!! Staff Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    627
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Greenfield, Indiana
    They didn’t get any better on the newer trucks. The HFCM (Horizontal Fuel Conditioning Module) which is where the primary fuel filter is, is inside the frame rail, next to the transfer case, immediately in front of the cross member. Makes it very difficult to get to. But if they had moved it back a foot, it would have been out in the open and accessible.
     
  10. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    25
    Posts:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    776
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    I don't know. With my cab configuration (supercrew shortbed) I didn't have any trouble with the HFCM. lol
    Although I do need a new cover plate, as the drain is stripped. Or I could just hook up the airdog. Lol
    But yeah, some other things.... Being in fabrication, i work around engineers all the time. Nuff said. Lol

    Also, to throw something out there. Everyone complains saying (newer) fords are junk because you have to pull the cab to do anything. Well, that's actually at the request/preference of the shops. Way easier to pull the cab. They actually designed it so its easily removed. Heck, shade tree mechanics are even doing it now.

    Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
     
  11. Thewespaul

    Thewespaul Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    3,496
    Likes Received:
    1,534
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Location:
    Bulverde, Texas
    Don’t complain about changing that until you’ve done one on a 4x4 cab and chassis truck with the narrow frame :frustrate
     
  12. DrCharles

    DrCharles Full Access Member

    Posts:
    385
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Location:
    West Plains, MO
    I disagree... they designed it so it's easily installed on the assembly line! Everything is made so it can be put together in 86 seconds per line position, including "marrying" the body and the chassis. (That's what they called it at the assembly plant I spent five long months in, anyway).

    If it comes off again easily, that's just a bonus for the shops.
     

Share This Page