Front End Squeeling

Discussion in 'Drivetrain & Suspensions' started by steelheadguy, Mar 20, 2016.

1. steelheadguy

steelheadguy Registered Idiot Supporting Member

I have a new to me 86 F350 6.9. It is my first diesel, and also first 4x4. Ive just recently started driving the truck. Today there is a horrible squeeling noise at slow speeds, which turns into a high pitch noise at high speeds. The noise isn't always there.

There are a couple of things that may have lead up to this.

I got the truck stuck in a very deep mud hole. So deep I almost couldnt open the doors and had to have a bulldozer pull me out. Im sure mud got everywhere and inside everywhere.

I also drove the truck about 200 miles with the hubs locked. Im new to 4x4, is this bad? At 85 I smelled something that smelled like fireworks and finally pulled over to manually unlock the hubs. Did I make the smell up? or could something be burning from the locked hubs?

Today I also filled my bed with plywood, 2x4s and quick crete, the first heavy load Ive put in the truck. I hauled the load about 50 miles.

At first I thought it was the front brakes completely worn, because the sound stops if I hit the brakes even if I just lightly touch the brakes. On the contrary, steering affects the noise.

I know nothing about hubs or U joints. At first glance I couldnt even tell what kind of brakes the front has. Are they really drums?
    Sorry for being a noob!:hail

Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
  2. 79jasper

79jasper Chickenhawk

Fronts are disc.
    Pull the tires and start investigating.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

3. steelheadguy

Yea I dont know if Ill be able to until I get the other my wheels back on my other truck.
    Edit: Ill check to see if it is the pads. If it is... Ill probably need new rotors after today.

Also.... Im very new to trucks and suspension. When I was parked today, I parked with the wheels turned all the way right. The wheels seemed to be leaning out. Is this normal?