1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forscan Code P1280......

Discussion in '7.3L Powerstroke Diesels' started by Diesel D, Feb 12, 2020.

  1. Diesel D

    Diesel D Registered User

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Kaukauna WI
    '02 F-350 7.3 diesel....starts ok, then sputters, lopes, surges and shuts off abruptly....Forscan Code P1280......looked up the number......it says ICP sensor out of range....visually checked sensor...no oil or corrosion....as far as I could see, wires look good.....Question....would an ICP sensor go bad if the truck has only 12,000 miles, but is 18 years old?......is there a way to check to see that the proper power is going to the sensor itself?.......Thanks.
     
  2. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    16,827
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    Step 1. Unplug sensor.
    2. Restart truck.
    Stay running? If yes, move to step 3.
    3. Replace ICP sensor.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
    Diesel D likes this.
  3. DaveBen

    DaveBen Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    338
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Location:
    Ukiah, Ca
    The out of range is not your Forscan. It is out of range for the engine's computer - or - a bad sensor.
     
  4. Diesel D

    Diesel D Registered User

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Kaukauna WI
    thanks for the replies....would a sensor go bad with those few miles? most guys that are replacing ICP sensors, the trucks have in excess of 200,000 miles or so, and almost always are leaking oil....mine looks like new yet.....my '02 only has 12,000 miles....that's not a misprint....this truck's been "sittin' on a velvet pillow" for the last 18 years.....so....would the passage of time make a sensor go bad?
     
  5. greenskeeper

    greenskeeper Full Access Member

    Posts:
    605
    Likes Received:
    73
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Location:
    hatfield pa
    could be the pigtail and not the sensor
     
  6. DaveBen

    DaveBen Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    338
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Location:
    Ukiah, Ca
    Brand new sensors can be bad out of the box.
     
  7. Diesel D

    Diesel D Registered User

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Kaukauna WI
    .....yes...I agree.....but the sensor on my truck is the original. I haven't replaced it yet. I just don't want to start throwing good money at bad. Can a sensor go bad just by the passage of time?
     
  8. Diesel D

    Diesel D Registered User

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Kaukauna WI
    that's what I'm thinking. Would you know what electrical tests are necessary to determine if the proper power is getting to the sensor?
     
  9. Diesel D

    Diesel D Registered User

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Kaukauna WI
    Thanks jasper....so I should unplug the sensor with the engine off?....when you say "stay running", do you mean no sputtering or surging?
     
  10. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    16,827
    Likes Received:
    1,657
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    Correct. You can unplug it with it running as well. The computer will go to a default value.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
  11. Diesel D

    Diesel D Registered User

    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2019
    Location:
    Kaukauna WI
    ok....would you know how to test the plug itself for proper voltage and so forth, because I have a hunch it's the wires, and not the sensor. (would rather not spend $150.00 on replacing a sensor that may not be bad).
     
  12. Garbage_Mechan

    Garbage_Mechan Garbage Mechanic

    Posts:
    868
    Likes Received:
    392
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Central Cal Foothills
    You are overthinking this. Unplug the sensor and run it. If it runs ok unplugged. Inspect / clean the plug. Plug it back in. If it runs bad again replace the sensor. DO Not cheap out and get aftermarket sensor.
     
    riphip likes this.

Share This Page