F-800

gnathv

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Looking for pros and cons of this setup. I know it is not idi but I know y'all are a fountain of insight.
1998 f-800 5.9 cummins, Allison auto, 162000 miles. Air brakes, air ride suspension. Crew cab.

Considering this for tow vehicle for 10,000+ lbs boat and 35ft fifth wheel. Is this viable or just overkill.

Thanks for any insight and anything to consider.

jwalterus

Made in America
Reaction score
in my opinion, you can never have too big a tow vehicle
I tow 5k on a daily basis with my truck, I used to use a 91 f-150, and while they will both move it, one is a helluva lot more stable and stops a lot easier

NO_SPRK

User & Abuser
Reaction score
not sure what allison it has.. if its a non lockup direct 1:1 top gear then i may stay away or start looking for a fuller/eaton to swap in.

cant go wrong with a 215hp P-pump

i have no experience with those chassis

Looking for pros and cons of this setup. I know it is not idi but I know y'all are a fountain of insight.
1998 f-800 5.9 cummins, Allison auto, 162000 miles. Air brakes, air ride suspension. Crew cab.

Considering this for tow vehicle for 10,000+ lbs boat and 35ft fifth wheel. Is this viable or just overkill.

Thanks for any insight and anything to consider.

The Warden

MiB Impersonator
Supporting Member
Reaction score
not sure what allison it has.. if its a non lockup direct 1:1 top gear then i may stay away or start looking for a fuller/eaton to swap in.

cant go wrong with a 215hp P-pump
Agreed completely. You should be good with this truck overall, but Allisons have a habit of sucking power...unless you really want to keep the slushbox, I would be thinking about a manual transmission.

Otherwise, sounds like a nice rig ;Sweet

FORDF250HDXLT

The life of an Indian is like the wings of the air
Supporting Member
Reaction score