Epoxy primer recommendations?

laserjock

Almost there...
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm getting real close to cutting metal. The epoxy primer thing is new to me. Last time I did a truck it was a brand new thing so I haven't used it before. Is it all its cracked up to be and any recommendations as to brands or where to get it? I've had good luck with ppg products in the past but I'm open to whatever.

GOOSE

Happy IDI'er
Reaction score
Epoxy primer comes highly recommended from my friend who does plenty of auto body work. I am a paint novice so I am looking forward to seeing what is said here.

TahoeTom

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't claim to be an expert, but have learned a lot on autobodystore.com forum. Epoxy primer has a pretty limited recoat window, usually two or three days. I think you may get up to a week with ppg top of the line stuff. It is not usually sandable. You need to add whatever surfacing primer you are going to use within the recoat window. You can go direct to your topcoat on parts that don't need to be primed/sanded. If epoxy is not topcoated within the recoat window, it should be scuffed and recoated with another coat of epoxy before another product is added. Epoxy can be used as a sealer between sanding primer and topcoat. When used as a sealer it is usually thinned with acetone. Whatever brand you go with, read the tech sheet and you will know the specifics. Like ppg shopline requires a 15 minute induction time after adding hardener before application. Autobodystore.com has a useful forum for learning about these products.

laserjock

Almost there...
Supporting Member
Reaction score