egt and water temp seems too low

frankenwrench

overkill is under rated!
Reaction score
Hello all I'm new to the thread I just did a recent build on my truck 6.9 IDI stock 93 turbo setup not too many upgrades just basic aftermarket gauges and whatnot loaded or unloaded I can't seem to get my water temperature above 190 nor can I get my egts above 350 uphill downhill regardless any ideas?

Macrobb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Water temp should stay in the 180-190 range all the time, unless you are towing. The cooling system has so much capacity compared to what the engine puts out, that you can actually drive around(unloaded) with the thermostat stuck closed without overheating.

EGTs... How are they measured? Where is the sender, what type of gauge?

I'd expect 400-700F range when driving; with a digital gauge you might see 800-900 spikes when accelerating. With an unpowered analog gauge, you won't see the spikes.

frankenwrench

overkill is under rated!
Reaction score
Usually pulling my uncle's Massey. Weighs about 14200 on my 20 ft gooseneck. Not sure how much boxblade and bucket weighs. Pretty long uphill runs so between upshifting and downshifting it drops and fluctuates from 270 to 345 on egts. Thermo probe is on driver side exhaust manifold between second and third exhaust hole. Digitally measured. Can't remember brand will look tomorrow. Water temp location was moved from the stock sender location to the overheat dummy light sensor location with no change. It's not digital just the one behind the shelf from O'Reilly basic needle with crummy backlight. Got my thermostat 4 months ago cause first one I got had four little bypass holes and sat at 160 at hottest and was advised to get proper one from international and to flush green antifreeze and replace with fleet with SCA. Also noticed today (running without load) that egts stayed at 200 with little fluctuation unless I stomped on it. Got it to 290 and that's about it.

frankenwrench