Best source for built ZF-5?

MountainMan300

Reaction score
I have a 1992 F-350 4x4 with the 7.3 IDI, and a ZF-5 transmission.

I believe the synchro for reverse is going out, as I am able to go through 1-5 normally without issue. However, when I try to go in reverse, the transmission usually grinds and wants to pop back out of gear.

I'm a GM guy by trade, but I do want to use this truck as a workhorse for my family's business (which includes a fair amount of towing, hauling, and long distance travel). As such, I really want the most durable transmission possible.

Since I'm still new to Fords, what is the best solution to my transmission issue? Would I be better off having a shop rebuild it, or is there a reputable source for ZF-5's online?

Azidiguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What part of the world are you from i only know of one in az but hes good and stands by his work

Shadetreemechanic

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There is a local shop near me that does a great job on these transmissions, but Tennessee is a big state. Layne's Transmission is in Tracy City, TN

Jesus Freak

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know there's good mechanics out there.......they're probably with bigfoot. But if you do it yourself, you know that you know.

Nothing against the "good" mechanic out there, I've just never had a good experience and have resolved to do it all myself.

franklin2

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have a 1992 F-350 4x4 with the 7.3 IDI, and a ZF-5 transmission.

I believe the synchro for reverse is going out, as I am able to go through 1-5 normally without issue. However, when I try to go in reverse, the transmission usually grinds and wants to pop back out of gear.

I'm a GM guy by trade, but I do want to use this truck as a workhorse for my family's business (which includes a fair amount of towing, hauling, and long distance travel). As such, I really want the most durable transmission possible.