1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I the only one that has to tighten DP Clamp daily?

Discussion in '6.9L IH & 7.3L IDI Diesels' started by Kizer, Jun 19, 2019.

  1. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Maybe daily is an exaggeration.
    I don't hear anyone else complaining about the down pipe clamp coming loose ALL THE DAMNED TIME ...
    This is my first factory turbo and the truck with which I've had this problem.
    What gives ... it's a real PITA.
    Any advise is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. The_Josh_Bear

    The_Josh_Bear Full Access Member

    Posts:
    649
    Likes Received:
    322
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Western WA
    The v band clamp right after the turbo or a different one? If it's the vband then just change the nut to an all metal lock-nut and never do it again. :Thumbs Up

    Or just grab another basic nut and jamb them together, same effect.
     
    Kizer likes this.
  3. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Thank you ... This is certainly a "why didn't I think of that" moment.
    I appreciate it.
     
    genscripter likes this.
  4. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    To answer your question, yes...the one right after the turbo.
     
  5. 79jasper

    79jasper Chickenhawk

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    16,265
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    Collinsville, Oklahoma
    Any chance someone swapped it with a nylock? Lol

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
  6. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Could be! I can't get a very good look at it ... it acts like a nylock!
     
  7. ifrythings

    ifrythings Full Access Member

    Posts:
    551
    Likes Received:
    278
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    My v-band clamp for the down pipe uses a nylock that I’ve ran up and down at least a dozen times with out replacing and hasn’t come loose. Your not using the clamp to pull the pipe in to the turbo are you? It should just be clamping them together with no extra tension from the exhaust system.
     
  8. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    No I'm not. I just picked this truck up in Feb. The clamp was loose when I bought it ... tightened the clamp drove 350 +/- miles (home) tightened again. Changed oil the next day, clamp was loose again. Tightened. Two days later truck sounds like a Massey Ferguson, tightened clamp etc ...
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2019
  9. Oledirtypearl86

    Oledirtypearl86 Full Access Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    972
    Likes Received:
    460
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Location:
    Whitehall MT
    Might need à new vband clamp if a new nut didn't fix it
     
  10. rwk

    rwk Full Access Member

    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Location:
    S.W. mich
    I used a fine thread SHCS and a top lock metal lock nut, they go on hard and are not reusable
     
  11. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    I haven't tried a new nut, but thanks.

    I like the idea but I think I'll go with The Josh Bear's idea of of using a jamb nut.
     
  12. IDIoit

    IDIoit MachinistFabricator Supporting Member

    Posts:
    12,314
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    commiefornia
    are you actually using a v-band clamp on a factory turbo with a factory outlet?
     
  13. Kizer

    Kizer Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    No, but I knew what they meant...my assumption is that the jamb nun will work anyway.
    Please correct me if my assumption is wrong.
     
  14. IDIoit

    IDIoit MachinistFabricator Supporting Member

    Posts:
    12,314
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Location:
    commiefornia
    the jamb nut will work fine. I was asking because the factory turbo is not a v-band style clamp.
     
  15. The_Josh_Bear

    The_Josh_Bear Full Access Member

    Posts:
    649
    Likes Received:
    322
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Western WA
    Oh sorry what's it called? I changed mine to a 3" outlet and a v-band but I thought the OEM was v-band too, same clamp different size IIRC.

    @Kizer glad I could help! Let us know how it goes.
    -Joshua
     

Share This Page