70 MPH at lower RPM

Ray-Ray

Reaction score
Recently bought an 86 F250 2WD ATS Turbo 6.9 Diesel with 77,000 miles on it (not sure if it's a roll over miles) and I "want" to reach 70 MPH on the freeway with lower RPMs. I was going about 55 MPH at close to 2000 RPM and last time i did try to drive it at 70 MPH the RPM was a little high in my opinion. I'll be towing probably around 5,000 LBS worth of boat and trailer, but not all the time. I am new to FORD and diesel engines and only been reading the threads from this and other diesel sites. any pointers or advise is welcomed, thanks in advance.

franklin2

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You didn't say what transmission you have. I would assume it's a 4 speed or a c6, and you most likely have 4.10 gears in the rearend. All you need is a overdrive transmission. It's a wonderful addition and changes the whole personality of the truck. Mine had a c6 with 4.10's. All I could get out of it was 12 mpg. And it was very noisy on the highway. I swapped in a zf 5 speed that has overdrive, and now I get 15 mpg and it's so much quieter and nicer to drive on the interstate. If I am pulling a heavy load I can't really use 5th, you might be able to to if you have smaller tires and a turbo.

david85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If we assume zero slip, the numbers work out roughly to:

2000 RPM@ 55MPH = 36.7 RPM/MPH

So, 70 MPH * 36.7 = 2545.45 RPM

My truck had the a C6/4.10 combo and I can tell you that with that setup, you will have a top speed of 75 MPH. When I realized that, I swapped to 3.08 gears...barely 3 months after buying the truck.

The bad news is, I think you already have 3.55 gears.

Here are a few more numbers for comparison at 2000RPM:

3.08: 61.29 MPH
3.33: 56.69 MPH
3.55: 53.18 MPH
4.10: 45.93 MPH

*This is based on an assumed stock tire diameter of 31.73" (235/85/16 tires)

@70 MPH, your engine RPMs should look like this:

3.08: 2284.10 RPM
3.33: 2570.29 RPM
3.55: 2632.65 RPM
4.10: 3040.56 RPM