7.5L to 6.9L IDI swap

MechRick

Reaction score
First post- I've recently purchased a 6.9L IDI with the intent of swapping it into my gas F250. This will be my first diesel, assuming I got a good one, but I've got quite a bit of experience working on them (and Cummins too), as I was a line mechanic for 30-odd years.

I plan on reusing the big block ZF5 (after drilling), and would love to be able to use the 12" 460 clutch as well (new). The engine will go on a run stand. I want to run it and allow the cooling system to pressurize before I tear it down to reseal and clean.

The 1987 engine came with the core support from the same truck, I'll have to buy a radiator.

What's the simplest way to rework the gas fuel system to work with diesel? I can run one tank to start, but eventually want both tanks to function.

Will I need new front coil springs for the heavier diesel?

-Thank you

You must be registered for see images attach

Big Bart

Tow&Slow
Reaction score
Rick I had a 95 F-150 gasser and now a 88 idi. I have never done a gas to diesel swap so no expert here.

The IDI does not use a fuel pump in the tank. Just a suction line and a return line. So you will have to make sure there is no fuel pump in the tanks blocking the suction line and that it does have a return line. (As I recall the EFI also had a return line but I am not 100% sure.) Also the IDI uses a mechanical lift pump to feed the fuel filter on the passenger side of the engine. So you need to route the feed line to it.

The IDI I believe uses the same tank selector and wiring. So I do not think you have to do anything there. But someone who has done this should weigh in shortly. Be sure to get all the gas out of the tank and lines as thinning your diesel with gas would be problematic.

You will use your current starter soleniod to energize the starter soleniod on your idi starter. Yes you will use a soleniod to another soleniod. Sounds odd but how Ford did it.