7.3 IDI Block

itmmik

Reaction score
best way to sleeve 7.3 id block? looking at rebuilt long block promar any good
who would be best to do it rear 2 cylinders' not good one looks
like a crack after ball hone can feel it 89 f350 nice clean truck new trans rebuild

FrozenMerc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My $0.02. Find a local machine shop (there isn't many left, so support the ones that are still in business), and bring the block there. You are probably looking at $80 to $125 per hole to sleeve, $10 to $15 per hole for a final bore and hone.

I have no experience with ProMar.

Last edited:

SLC97SR5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I would also check your local options. If that does not checkout then try to find a good running used 7.3 to drop in.
Finally I would give Promar a shot.
I had several issues with Promar but all is well for now.

IDIBRONCO

IDIBRONCO
Reaction score
A cracked cylinder can be sleeved IF it's not a big crack and it's not too close to the top or bottom of the cylinder. Just so you know, if you buy one from a company such as Promar, you probably won't get any core credit for a block with a cracked cylinder. They will probably also sleeve it and resell it if they can at all. I could be wrong on that, but it's a good possibility.
Helpful hint: good punctuation is VERY appreciated here!

hacked89

Full Access Member
Reaction score
A cracked cylinder can be sleeved IF it's not a big crack and it's not too close to the top or bottom of the cylinder. Just so you know, if you buy one from a company such as Promar, you probably won't get any core credit for a block with a cracked cylinder. They will probably also sleeve it and resell it if they can at all. I could be wrong on that, but it's a good possibility.
Helpful hint: good punctuation is VERY appreciated here!